Finalists in Nanaimo Awards

February 2nd, 2012

Congratulations to all those from VIU that have been selected as finalists in the 2012 Nanaimo sports achievemt awards, celebrated Staurday, Feb 4th at the Coast Bastion ..... Coaches Tony Bryce and Bill Merriman, Athletes Lindsay McLoughlin, Jared Stephens , Bryan Cassels and Jenny Aronson plus the  men's Basketball team.

Read more in the Nanaimo Daily News

Award finalists named
Daily News
Published: Monday, January 23, 2012

The finalists for the 7th Annual Nanaimo Sports Achievement Awards were released on Friday after judges sorted through the more than 80 nominations for the 15 different categories.

The judges for the Feb. 4 gala event are made up of local media, organizers, athletes and a few former Olympians. Marilyn Sullivan, chair of the organizing committee said there were some difficult decisions made this year.

"We always have quality nominations, so it makes the jobs of the judges very difficult," said Sullivan.

Tickets for the banquet are on sale now for $60 a person and can be picked up at the Coast Bastion Hotel or by contacting Sullivan at 250-716-6110. Proceeds from the night go towards PacificSport.

Masters Athlete of the Year Rhonda Heaslip - Power lifting Ruth Matson - Outrigger Canoeing Barry Sparkes - Track

Sports Administrator of the Year Dominic Abassi - Football Kathy Davidson - BMX Irene Morrison - Lacrosse

Official of the Year Mike James - Basketball Matt Notley - Soccer Jim Turley - Lacrosse

Partners of the Year Jenny Aronson/Bryan Cassels - Badminton, Natasha Cross/Elizabeth Kraft - Canoe Racing
Spencer Crowley/Kai Langerfeld - Rowing

Grassroots Coach of the Year Bob Milne - Powerball Soccer Bob Saunders - Cross Country/ Track & Field Nate Stevenson - Football

High Performance Coach of the Year Tony Bryce - Basketball Bill Merriman - Soccer Kelly Russell - Dragon Boat

Female Junior Athlete of the Year Shirin Anjarwalla - Golf Miryam Bassett - Track & Field Marita DeSchiffart - Track & Field

Male Junior Athlete of the Year Josh Burgmann - Baseball Thomas Oxland - Track & Field Mark Valliere - Golf

Junior Team of the Year John Barsby Junior Football Nanaimo Diamonds '95 - Fastball Nanaimo PeeWee AAA Pirates - Baseball

Female Team Athlete of the Year Arden Gill - Rower Lindsay McLoughlin - Volleyball Darlene Stevens - Rollerblade

Male Team Athlete of the Year Adam Paulencu - Baseball Jared Stephens - Soccer Jordan Yantz - Football

Female Individual Athlete of the Year Haleigh Lloyd - Track & Field Jennifer Park - 10 Pin Bowling Katelynn Ramage - Track & Field

Male Individual Athlete of the Year Remi Gauvin - Mountain Bike Hunter McGill - BMX Adam Rahier - Swimming

Team of the Year Nanaimo Women's Hornets Rugby Team Wheatsheaf Men's Fastball VIU Basketball

Sports Story of the Year John Barsby Football Junior & Senior Program Andrew Harris Michelle Stilwell