Nanaimo Sports Achievement Awards

January 29th, 2013

Sport achievement finalists announced

By Nanaimo News Bulletin
Published: February 01, 2013 08:00 AM
Updated: January 31, 2013 08:108 AM


The Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards will boast worthy winners, as they will be selected from an impressive group of finalists.

Organizers announced the finalists for the 2013 Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards Monday. Winners will be announced at the banquet Feb. 9 at the Coast Bastion Inn. Tickets, $60 each, can be purchased at the hotel, at Beban Park Golf Course or at the PacificSport office on Vancouver Island University campus.

For more information or to reserve tickets, please call Marilyn Sullivan at 250-716-6110.

The finalists are:

Male Team Athlete of the Year - Matt Mehrassa, soccer; Scott Ranger, lacrosse; Jordan Yantz, football.

Female Team Athlete of the Year - Toni Angell, lacrosse; Leanna Gildersleeve, volleyball; Dani Smith, volleyball.

Male Individual Athlete of the Year - Joel DeSchiffart, track; Steve Smith, downhill mountain biking; Graham Spencer, mixed martial arts.

Female Individual Athlete of the Year - Erin Burrett, cross-country running; Sage Thomas, karate; Katelynn Ramage, race walk.

Masters Athlete of the Year - Joe Giegerich, track and field; Janna Gillick, cyclocross; Sandy Harper, golf.

Junior Male Athlete of the Year - Elan Jonas-McRae, rock climbing; Ethan Katzberg, track and field; Brendan McCarthy, baseball.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year - Cheyenne deLaronde, fastpitch softball; Madison Heisterman, track; Jenaya Pynn, track.

Partners of the Year - Victoria Behie and Brooke Shouldice, beach volleyball; Robbie Calvin and Wes Richardson, beach volleyball; Natasha Rygnestad-Stahl and Tara Christensen, rowing.

Team of the Year - B.C. Special Olympics Nanaimo Tigers floor hockey; Vancouver Island University Mariners women’s volleyball; VIU Mariners men’s soccer.

Junior Team of the Year - Kesa Van Osch’s junior women’s curling team; Nanaimo Impact U17 rep girls’ soccer team; Nanaimo District Islanders senior AAA girls’ volleyball team.

High-Performance Coach of the Year - Shane Hyde, volleyball; Al Johnston, track and field; Jim Newlands, curling.

Grassroots Coach of the Year - Randy Cooper, football; Gary Maitland, volleyball; Bob Saunders, track and field/cross-country running.

Official of the Year - Kevin Robillard, hockey; Jim Turley, lacrosse; Dan Rogers, baseball.

Sport Administrator of the Year - Kathy Davidson, BMX; Peter McCaffery, cycling; Bill Rounis, volleyball.

Sports Story of the Year - Nanaimo Buccaneers’ inaugural season; B.C. Special Olympics Nanaimo Tigers floor hockey gold medal; VIU Mariners women’s volleyball national championship.