Nanaimo Sports Achievement Awards

February 4th, 2018

Congratulations to all the finalists !!

VIU Mariner athletes well represented.


Nanaimo News Now
by Dan Marshall

NANAIMO — The finalists have been chosen for the Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards.
The 13th annual gala is slated for Friday February 16th at the Coast Bastion Inn.
There are three finalists each in a broad selection of 17 categories, plus there are an additional two awards that will be handed out that night.
Those are the Michael Rhode Memorial Award for longtime dedication to sport; and the Steve Smith Memorial Award, for achievementin extreme sport.
The award finalists are listed below:

Male Team Athlete of the Year
Jordan de Graaf, soccer
Chase Fraser, lacrosse
Brycen Mayoh, football

Female Team Athlete of the Year
Riley Knight, rowing
Megan Rosenlund, volleyball
Veronica Wong, baseball

Male Individual Athlete of the Year 
Wyatt Brook, golf
Ben Rudson, triathlon
Ellis Tull, wheelchair curling

Female Individual Athlete of the Year 
Simar Kaur, jiu-jitsu
Rachel Robertson, kettlebell
Melissa Ross, cross-country

Male Junior Team Athlete of the Year 
Anders Cederberg, basketball
Adam Fulton, lacrosse
Zach Taylor, football

Female Junior Team Athlete of the Year
Chantelle Lee, lacrosse
Kate Reynolds, soccer
Kassandra Richardson, volleyball

Male Junior Individual Athlete of the Year 
Korin Gardner, judo
Ethan Katzberg, track and field
Nate Paris, track and field

Female Junior Individual Athlete of the Year 
Amelia Cooper, karate
Gabby Sanderson, boxing
Jordan Singer, bowling

Masters Athlete of the Year 
Jody Berry, dragonboat
Dennis Lynch, cross-country skiing
Norm Thibault, cyclocross

Partners of the Year 
Isaac Bevis and Jeff Webb, beach volleyball
Josh Jeffers and Julia Morris, sailing
Clive Jones and Brenda Stewart, pickleball

Team of the Year 
V.I. Raiders, football
Vancouver Island University Mariners, men’s soccer
Shima Karate School, karate

Junior Team of the Year 
Nanaimo Christian School Trail Blazers, senior girls’ volleyball
Nanaimo District Secondary School Islanders, senior boys’ basketball
NDSS Islanders, junior girls’ cross-country

High Performance Coach of the Year 
Doug Hocking, football
Bill Merriman, soccer
Lucian Serban, soccer

Grassroots Coach of the Year 
Toni Angell, lacrosse
Linda Connolly, dragonboat
Joel Smith, lacrosse

Sport Administrator of the Year 
Bob Franklin and Marg Obee, U18 curling
Mary Mark and Judy Villeneuve, mountain biking
Kurt Nordli, karate

Official of the Year 
Jackson James, basketball
O-Lin Metz, soccer
Gwen Pemberton, softball

Sports Story of the Year 
Harris Auto Group bathtub wins Great Race the day after Tom Harris’s celebration of life
Lantzville’s Dylan Ferguson plays in first NHL game
Steve Smith Bike Park opens
Tickets for the event are still available.

To get a seat for the Sport Achievement Awards contact Marilyn Sullivan at 250-716-6110.