42nd Mariners Awards Banquet

April 15th, 2018

The 42nd Annual VIU Mariner Athletics Awards banquet was celebrated at the Coast Bastion Hotel on April 17th.  An exciting evening that was emceed by student-athletes Maddy Dawson of the women’s soccer team and Tony Trozzo of the golf team.

It all got started with a highlight video of the Mariners in action on the court and in the community. VIU President and Vice-Chancellor, Dr Ralph Nilson then made opening remarks commenting on how proud he is of the program.

Maddy and Tony did an excellent job of announcing all PACWEST, CCAA and Mariner awards. A half-time show had to be the highlight of the evening. Celina Guadagni and Kaitlyn Lafontaine of the women’s basketball team had everyone involved in a competition that led to a dance off ! Congrats to the eventual winner Kelsey Hutt.

Two new awards were introduced this year, the Unsung Hero and the Graduating Student-Athlete. The Unsung Hero award recognizes student-athletes who have positively influenced their team from behind the scenes with a positive attitude and a willingness to help in whatever capacity necessary. Graduating Student-athlete is an addition to the fifth year recognition, acknowledging those students that are completing their degree or program.

Graduating Student-Athletes

Graydon Robb - Badminton

Darby Walker -  Badminton

Helen Cheung - Badminton

William Poon - Badminton

Ben Robson - Soccer

Aly Adib - Soccer

Andres Algarin - Soccer

Zoe Grace - Soccer

Moira Brown - Soccer

Rachel Jones - Soccer

Katie Rodgers - Soccer

Nicola Terbasket - Basketball

Kaitlyn Lafontaine - Basketball

Taylor Henderson - Golf


Unsung Hero Award winners

Tony Trozzo - Golf

Moira Brown - Women’s Soccer

Luke Holmes - Men’s Soccer

Celina Guadagni - Women’s Basketball

Nicholas Xylinas - Men’s Basketball

Tova Rae - Women’s Volleyball

Vedran Obradovic - Men’s Volleyball

Louisa Maciejewski - Badminton

Major award winners included, Nicholas Xylinas of the men’s basketball team and Mikayla Wagner women’s volleyball winning the Mariner Academic Excellence award. Freshman Athletes of the year went to golfer Wyatt Brook and Danielle Groenendijk from volleyball. Both had outstanding seasons with Wyatt winning two PACWEST tournaments, a league All-Star award and shot the lowest stroke average ever of a VIU golfer. Danielle was a CCAA National champion, recognized on the PACWEST All-Rookie team and All-Star team at Nationals.

The prestigious President’s awards were selected by their coaches, based on each coach’s individual criteria, such as commitment, leadership, and performance

President’s Awards

Zoe Grace - Women’s Soccer

Ryan McCurdy - Men’s Soccer                              

Will Bui - Badminton                                  

Victoria Ross - Golf 

Emily Munro - Women’s Volleyball            

Jared Parhar - Men’s Volleyball     

Danielle Vanbergen - Women’s Basketball    

Brett Christensen - Men’s Basketball  

Bill Merriman was honored for his success as a coach and all that he has contributed to VIU and soccer. Bill is retiring after 9 years of coaching the Mariners men’s soccer program, winning two CCAA titles, one this year and another back in 2010. was a national finalist in 2012 and 14, winning numerous coaching awards along the way. Mariner Athletics thanks Bill for all that he has done to make the VIU Men’s soccer program a national contender year after year.

The evening ended with the Athlete of the Year awards. This year Mikayla Wagner of the women’s volleyball team earned Female Athlete of the Year with accolades of MVP at the CCAA women’s volleyball nationals and PACWEST Athlete of the year Across All Sports.
Men’s Soccer player, Shun Takano took the Male Athlete of the Year award, he was also named a MVP at the CCAA nationals and a PACWEST All-Star.

Thanks again to Northfield Photography for all the amazing photos taken throughout the year.

Coming soon, the release of the 2018-19 Mariner Schedules