Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

VIU Mariners Awards Banquet

VIU Mariners Awards Banquet

VIU Mariners Athletics filled the Ballroom at the Coast Bastion Hotel on Monday night for their 43rd Annual Awards Banquet.

Almost 200 participated in the evening of celebration including VIU President and Vice-Chancellor Dr Ralph Nilson, Nanaimo Mayor Leonard Krog plus several senior administrators from VIU.

The evening was kick started with a special ceremony for Arianna Phillips, gold medalist at the World Special Olympics.

Student-Athlete's Emceed the evening and did an oustanding job, Thanks !! Vedran Obradovich and Chantal Cumming

2018-19 Mariners Moments Video  

National Champions, Chantal Cumming from Women's Volleyball and Harry Fayle from Men's Basketball were named Athletes of the Year.
Freshmen Athlete's of the Year awards went to Cara Dunlop, Women's Soccer and Ty Dvorack, Men's Volleyball.
Madeline Hart and Nicholas Xylinas were named the Top Academic Student-Athlete.

It was Dr Ralph Nilson's last Athletic Awards Banquet as VIU President and Vice-Chancellor and he was honoured as an Unsung Hero.
27 CCAA National Medals and 24 PACWEST Championships won during his tenure.
One of the most popular enhancements he made over the years was an increase to travel meal money, which he promised to boost again before he leaves.

A Halftime Show "Taste Buds" was hosted by Amber Lease (WBB) and Victoria Ross (GOLF), providing laughter and great photos !!

PHOTO GALLERY (credits to Craig Letourneau)

Mitch Turko                
Kayla Passmore         Women's Volleyball
Ty Dvorack                 Men's Volleyball
Juliet King                  Women's Basketball
Emmanuel Degal        Men's Basketball
Taylor Arbour             Men's Soccer
Nicole Foglietta          Women's Soccer
Nathan Duifhuis         Badminton

Lexi Fawcett              
Women's Soccer
Griffin Douglas           Men's Soccer
Joivin Joy                    Badminton
Alex Foston                Golf                                       
Amanda Dobbyn        Women's Volleyball             
Isaac Bevis                Men's Volleyball         
Kiara Johnston          Women's Basketball           
Emmanuel Degal       Men's Basketball